LOK SABHA

JOINT COMMITTEE ON PRE-NATAL DIAGNOSTIC TECHNIQUES (REGULATION AND PREVENTION OF MISUSE) BILL, 1991

EVIDENCE



LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT NEW DELHI

December, 1992/Agrahayana-Pausa, 1914 (S)

Price: Rs. 30.00

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE PRE-NATAL DIAGNOSTIC TECHNIQUES (REGULATION AND PREVENTION OF MISUSE) BILL, 1991

COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE

Smt. D.K. Tharadevi Siddhartha — Chairperson

Members Lok Sabha

- 2. Smt. Dil Kumari Bhandari
- 3 Smt. Malini Bhattacharya
- 4 Smt. Saroj Dubey
- 5. Smt. Girija Devi
- 6. Dr. Mahavirsinh Harisinhji Gohil
- 7. Dr. Viswanatham Kanithi
- 8. Smt. Sumitra Mahajan
- 9. Smt. Geeta Mukherjee
- *10. Dr. (Smt.) Padma
- 11. Dr. Kartikeswar Patra
- 12. Dr. Vasant Niwruti Pawar
- 13. Dr. (Smt.) K.S. Soundaram
- 14. Km. Uma Bharati
- 15. Km. Vimla Verma

Rajya Sabha

- 16. Smt. Chandrika Abhinandan Jain
- 17. Smt. Sarla Maheshwari
- 18. Shri Sarda Mohanty
- 19. Shri V. Narayanasamy
- 20. Smt. Satva Bahin
- 21. Smt. Sushma Swaraj

**22.

SECRETARIAT

Shri G.L. Batra — Additional Secretary
Shri S.C. Gupta — Joint Secretary
Shri R.K. Chatterjee — Deputy Secretary
Shri T.D. Dhingra — Under Secretary

^{*} Appointed w.e.f. 20.12.1991 vice Shri K.R. Narayanan resigned.

^{**} Shri Bhaskar Annaji Masodkar ceased to be a member of the Committee w.e.f. 4.7.1992 on the expiry of his term in Rajya Sabha and the vacancy was not filled up.

REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY WELFARE)

- 1. Smt. Usha Vohra Secretary
- 2. Shri S.B. Mishra Joint Secretary
- 3. Shri A.K. Mukheriee Acting D.G.H.S.
- 4. Shri S.S. Kapur Director

Representatives of the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs (Department of Legal Affairs)

- 1. Shri B.P. Jayakar Joint Secretary and Legislative Counsel
- 2. Shri N.K. Agrawal Joint Secretary and Legislative Counsel
- 3. Shri B.R. Atre Joint Secretary and Legislative
 - Counsel
- 4. Shri M.S. Sharma Additional Legislative Counsel
- 5. Shri T.K. Vishwanathan Additional Legislative Counsel

JOINT COMMITTEE ON PRE-NATAL DIAGNOSTIC TECHNIQUES (REGULATION AND PREVENTION OF MISUSE) BILL, 1991 Witnesses Examined

Sl. No.	Name of Association/Organisation/individual etc.	Date on which evidence was taken	Page No.
1	2	3	4
	New Delhi		
1.	Saheli Women's Resource Centre	20-1-1992	1
	Spokespersons		
	(i) Ms. Lopa Banerjee		
2	(ii) Ms. Nalini Banot		
2.	Medico Friends Circle		
	Spokesperson Dr. C. Sathyamala		
3.	Voluntary Health Association of India		
٥.	Spokesperson		
	Dr. Mira Shiva		
4.	People's Union for Democratic Rights		
	Spokesperson		
	Ms. Rana Vasudevan		
5.	Action India		
	Spokesperson		
	Ms. Devi Kripa		
6.	Family Planning Foundation	20.1.1992	2
	Spokesperson		
7	Dr. (Mrs.) Nalini Abraham	20 1 1002	2
7.	National Federation of Indian Women Spokespersons	20-1-1992	2
	(i) Mrs. Pramila Loomba		
	(ii) Dr. Usha Srivastava		
	(iii) Mrs. Anurada Gupta		
	(iv) Mrs. Vimla Farooqui		
8.	Association of Genetics and Ultrasound	21-1-1992	23
	Clinics of India		
	Spokesmen	•	
	(i) Dr. Pyush Aggrawal		
	(ii) Dr. P.S. Bhandari		
	(iii) Dr. K.K. Loomba		
	(iv) Dr. S.P.S. Virk		

1	2	3	4
9.	Indian Law Institute Spokesman Shri P.M. Bakshi	21-1-1992	23
10.	Nari Raksha Samiti Spokespersons (i) Mrs. Usha Ahuja (ii) Mrs. Madhu Kalia	21-1-1992	23
11.	Mahila Dakshata Samiti Spokespersons (i) Mrs. Puloma Shah (ii) Ms. Rani Jethmalani	20-2-1992	43
12.	Young Women's Christian Association Spokesperson Mrs. Sadhona Ganguli		43
13.	All India Democratic Women's Association Spokespersons (i) Mrs. Brinda Karat (ii) Dr. Laxmi Sehgal (iii) Mrs. Jagmati Sangwan	20-2-1992	44
14.	Forum Against Oppression of Women Spokespersons (i) Ms. Swalija (ii) Ms. Chayanika	18-5-1992	64
15,	Pre-Selection Spokesmen (i) Shri Ravindra R.P. (ii) Ms. Jayashree	18-5-1992	64
16.	•	18.5.92	64
17.	Sh. Nilesh P. Ron, 53, Shantiniketan Anushakti Nagar, Bombay-400 094	18.5.92	93
18.	Dr. Hema Purandare Birth Defects & Centre Bandra, Bombay.	18.5.92	93
19.	Dr. Sharad Gogali, Surlata Hospital, Mahim, Bombay		

1		2	4
20.	Dr. S.A. Lakhandam Dy. Executive Health Officer Bombay Municipal Corporation. Bombay		
21.	State Appropriate Authority, Bombay Spokesmen (i) Dr. Lata Mehta (ii) Dr. P.G. Natrajan (iii) Dr. S.V. Apte		
22.	Shradhanand Mahilashram <i>Spokesman</i> Dr. Mridula Kothari	18.5.92	93
23.	Dr. Indumati Parikh	18.5.92	93
24.	State Vigilance Committee, Bombay Spokesman Dr. Sharadini Dahanukar	18.5.92	93
25.	Mrs. Jayashree Parchure	18.5.92	93
26.	Mrs. Veena Pradhan	18.5.92	93
27.	Mrs. Neelima Aher Social Worker, Post. Deola, Tal Kalwan, Nasik	18.5.92	93
28.	Dr. B.R. Agrawal, Vishwas Apartments, Data Wadi, Pune-30.	18.5.92	93
9.	Sh. S.N. Nandgare, B-901, Usha Nagar, Bandup (West) Bombay-78.	18.5.92	93
0.	Medico Friends Circle, Bombay Spokesmen (i) Shri Anil Pilgawhan (ii) Shri Ravi Duggal	18.5.92	93
1.	Foundation for Research in Community Health Spokesman Shri Sunil Nandraj	18.5.92	93

1	2	3	4
32.	Representatives of the State Govt. of Maharashtra (i) Dr. S.R. Salunke (ii) Prof. Bomsi Wadia (iii) Dr. P.V. Sathe (iv) Dr. Joyu Shankaran (v) Shri H.A.D. Sawian (vi) Shri D.N. Chaudhari	19.5.92	93
33.	Rajasthan Voluntary Health Association Spokesperson Ms. Purwa Kushwaha	20.5.92	121
34.	Bal Rashmi Society Spokespersons (i) Dr. S.C. Kabra (ii) Ms. Alice Garg	20.5.92	121
35.	Women's Rehabilitation Group Jaipur and Rajasthan University Women's Association, Jaipur Spokesperson Ms. Renuka Pamecha	20.5.92	121
36.	Red Cross Society, Jaipur Spokesman Dr. Prakashwati Bhatnagar	20.5.92	121
37.	PDr. (Mrs.) Pushpa Porwal, Dr. Porwal Nursing Home, Beawar Road, Ajmer-305 001	20.5.92	121
38.	Representatives of State Govt. of Rajasthan (i) Dr. D.C. Bafna (ii) Dr. B.L. Gupta (iii) Shri O.P. Meena (iv) Ms. Anjana Bhushan (v) Mrs. Kushal Singh	20.5.92	121
39	Dr. Badri N. Saxena, DDG (Sr.), Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi	7.7.92	137
40.	Dr. (Mrs.) Kamal Buckshee, Prof. and Head Obstetrics and Gynaecology Deptt., All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi.	7.7.92	137

(vii)

1	2	3	4
41.	Dr. (Mrs.) B. Chadha, Deptt. of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Kasturba Hospital, New Delhi.	7.7.92	137
42.	Prof. Dr. B.J. Wadia, Prof. Chairman & Head of the Deptt. of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Grant Medical College and Sir J.J. Group of Hospitals, Bombay.	7.7.92	137
43.	Dr. (Mrs.) A.M. Lele, Incharge, Genetics Division, Deptt. of Anatomy, GMC and JJ Group of Hospitals, Bombay.	7.7.92	138