# ALL-INDIA WOMEN'S CONFERENCE

#### FIFTEENTH SESSION



BANGALORE:
December 27 to 31, 1941.

# ALL-INDIA WOMEN'S CONFERENCE

#### FIFTEENTH SESSION



BANGALORE:
December 27 to 31, 1941.

Price excluding Postage:

India Rs. 1/8/0 Overseas Rs. 1/12/0



Rameshwari Nehru
President, All India Women's Conference
Bangalore, Dec. 1940,

### CONTENTS.

					Page.
Fifteenth Session of the AI. W. C			••	••	1
Programme of the Openin	• •	••	• •	3	
First Sitting: 1. Report	s	• •	• •	••	39
2. War R	esolution	• •	••	••	60
Second Sitting	••	• •	• •	••	71
Third Sitting	• •	• •	• •		75
Fourth Sitting	• •	••	••	• •	83
Final Sitting	• •	••	• •		93
Balance Sheet	••	• •	• •	• •	110
Draft Budget	••	••	• •		112
Appendix I:  Messages	••	••	••	••	113
Appendix II: List of Branches	• •	••	••		119
Memorandum of Importan	ons	• •	•••	122	
The Constitution of the A	• •	••	• •	171	
,, ", A	I. W. E. F	und Asso	ciation	• •	175
History of the AI. W. C	onference	• •	• •	• •	184

## PATRONESSES of the ALL-INDIA WOMEN'S CONFERENCE

Lady Dorothy Halifax

Her Highness the Dowager Maharani of Baroda

Lady Rama Varma of Cochin

H. H. Maharani Sucharu Devi of Mayurbhanj

Rani Saheba Lalita Kumari of Vizianagram

Mrs. Sarojini Naidu

Dr. Mrs. Muthulakshmi Reddi

Mrs. P. K. Ray

Lady Vidyagauri Nilkanth

Lady Abdul Qadir

Mrs. Rustomji Faridoonji

H. H. Maharani Setu Parvati Bayi of Travancore

Mrs. M. E. Cousins

Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade

Begum Shareefah Hamid Ali

#### Names of Chairwomen and Hony. General Secretaries from 1926-1939

Year	Chairwoman	Hony. General Secretary		
1926	_ <del></del>	Mrs. M. E. Cousins		
1927	Mrs. M. E. Cousins	Mrs. Kamala Devi Chattopadhya		
1928	Begum Hamid Ali	» » »		
1929	Mrs. Huidekoper	22 23 29		
1930	Mrs. Sushama Sen	Mrs. Kamala Devi, Mrs. Sushama Sen and Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade		
1931	Rajkumari Amrit Kaur	Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade		
1932	» » »	» » »		
1933	Dr. Mathulakshmi Reddi	)) )) ))		
1934	Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade	Mrs. S. C. Mukerjee		
1935	» » »	22 22 22		
1936	Mrs. S. C. Mukerjee	Mrs. Ammu Swaminadhan		
1937	Mrs. Ammu Swaminadhan	Mrs. Dina Asana		
1938	Rajkumari Amrit Kaur	» » »		
1939	Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade	Dr. Mrs. Malinibai B. Sukthankar		
1940	Begum Hamid Ali	Mrs. Lakshmi N. Menon		

#### **ASSOCIATION**

#### of the

#### **ALL-INDIA WOMEN'S CONFERENCE**

### Members of the Standing Committee and Office-bearers of the A.-I.W.C.

#### President and Chairwoman

Shrimati Rameshwari Nehru, 2, Warris Road, Lahore.

#### Vice-Presidents

Lady Rama Rau, 1-B, Mafatlal Park, Warden Road, Bombay.

Mrs. Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit, Anand Bhavan, Allahabad.

Lady Mirza Ismail, Bangalore City.

Shrimati Ammu Swaminadhan, Gilchrist Gardens, Chetput, Madras.

Mrs. S. C. Mukerjee, 25-1, Rowland Road, Calcutta.

Mrs. Sharadaben Mehta, Near Gujarat College, Ahmedabad.

#### Hony. General Secretary

Mrs. Urmila Mehta, 15th Road, Khar, Bombay 21.

#### Hony. Treasurer

Mrs. G. R. Billimoria, Thoburn House, Apollo Bunder, Bombay.

#### **Executive Committee**

Shrimati Rameshwari Nehru, 2, Warris Road, Lahore. (President).

Mrs. Urmila Mehta, 15th, Road, Khar, Bombay 21. (General Secretary).

Mrs. G. R. Billimoria, Thoburn House, Apollo Bunder, Bombay. (Treasurer)

Miss Leilamani Naidu, Hyderabad (Deccan). (Member for Constitution). Begum Hamid Ali, Camp, Baroda, (Patron).

Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, Jullundur City, (Punjab). (Patron).

Lady Rama Rau, 1-B, Mafatlal Park, Warden Road, Bombay. (Vice-President).

Shrimati Ammu Swaminadhan, Gilchrist Gardens, Chetput, Madras. (Vice-President).

Mrs. Lakshmi N. Menon, Nazarbagh, Lucknow.

Miss B. Ayesha Bibi, S.N. V. Sadanam, Thycaud, Trivandrum, S. India.

Shrimati Premvati Thapar, 1-A, Golf Road, Lahore.

Mrs. S. R. Mandyam, "Shri Nivasam", 170, Visweswarapuram, Bangalore City.

Mrs. P. Gupta, Punja Gutta, Hyderabad (Deccan).

Mrs. Rajen Nehru, 3, Hardinge Avenue, New Delhi.

#### Patrons on the Standing Committee

Mrs. Sarojini Naidu, Hyderabad (Deccan).

Dr. Muthulakshmi Reddi, "Shanti", Besant Avenue, Adyar, Madras.

Lady Vidyagauri Nilkanth, Bhadra, Ahmedabad.

Lady Abdul Qadir, Temple Road, Lahore.

Mrs. Rustomji Faridoonji, Khairatabad, Hyderabad, (Deccan).

Mrs. M. E. Cousins, "Ghat View", Kotagiri, The Nilgiris.

Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, Sevagram-Wardha, C.P.

Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade, Gwalior, C.I.

Begum Hamid Ali, Camp, Baroda and Southwood, Mussoorie.

#### Liaison Officer

Begum Hamid Ali, Camp, Baroda.

#### Editor of the 'Roshni'

Mrs. Lakshmi N. Menon, Nazarbagh, Lucknow.

#### Members-in-charge of Special Subjects

Constitution: Miss Leilamani Naidu, Hyderabad (Deccan).

Health: -Dr. K. Tarabai, Bunder Road, Karachi.

General Education:—Mrs. Hannah Sen, Lady Irwin College, 1, Sikandra Road, New Delhi.

Adult Education and Literacy:—Mrs. S. N. Ray, 18, Loudon Street, Calcutta.

Harijan Welfare:—Mrs. S. Nanjamma, 114, Visweswarapuram, Bangalore City.

Social Problems:—Lady Rama Rau, 1-B, Mafatlal Park, Warden Road, Bombay.

Legal Disabilities:—Mrs. J. R. Doctor, Bachchually Chambers, Gowalia Tank Road, Bombay 26.

Legislation:—Mrs. Kitty Shiva Rao, 7, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi. Franchise & Citizenship:—Rani Lakshmibai Rajwade, Gwalior, C.I.

- Labour & Child Labour:—Mrs. Sudha Mazumdar, Hill House, Bankura, Bengal.
- Indigenous Industries:—Mrs. Kamalamma Dasappa, Mahila Seva Samaja, P. O. Basavangudi, Bangalore City.
- Traffic in Women & Children:—Mrs. S. C. Mukerjee, 25-1, Rowland Road, Calcutta.
- Indians Overseas:—Mrs. Dina Asana, Opposite Gujarat College, Ahmedabad.
- Rural Reconstruction:—Mrs. Jayashri Raiji, Tulsi Vila, Alexandra Road, Bombay 7.
- Housing:-Mrs. Shyamalabai Belgaumkar, Jaikarnatak Press, Dharwar.

#### **Branch Representatives**

	branch Kepresentatives
Andhra	Shrimati Peddada Kameswaramma, Vonti Koppal, Mysore.
Assam	Mrs. Shantabai Desai, Lake-side, Shillong.
Baroda	Miss Sushila Kumari Pandit, Aryakanya, Mahavidya- laya, Baroda.
Bengal East	Mrs. Nalini Nitra, Anandamayee Girls' School, Dacca.
Bengal West	Miss Bhramar Ghosh, C/o Mrs. S. C. Mazumdar, Hill House, Bankura.
Berar	Mrs. Mangalabai Shrikhande, C/o V. R. Shrikhande, Esq., Pleader., Yeotmal.
Bihar	Mrs. S. C. Chakravarty, Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, P. O. Bankipore, Patna.
Bombay	Miss Kamal Wagle, Social Service League, Girgaum, Bombay 4.
Calcutta	Mrs. Shamsun Nahar Mahmud, Calcutta Police Hospital, 77, Shambhunath Pandit Street, Calcutta.
C.P. North	Mrs. Elia Tamby, 136, Civil Lines, Jubbulpore, C.P.
C.P. South	Mrs. Manoramabai Mudholkar, Civil Lines, Nagpur.
Cochin	Mrs. Velayudha Menon, Head Mistress, Girls' School, Ernaculam, Cochin State.
Delhi	Mrs. Rajan Nehru, 3, Hardinge Avenue, New Delhi.
Gujarat	Miss Nalini Dalal, 22, Khanpur, Ahmedabad.

Mrs. Chandrakala Sahai, 10, J. A. Hospital, Gwalior, C.I.

Mrs. P. Gupta, Punja Gutta, Hyderabad, (Deccan).

Gwalior

Hyderabad (Dn.)