# INDIA'S GOAL

•••••

### CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISMS

BY

## LEADING INDIANS

ON THE

ONTAGU-CHELMSFORD SCHEME

mannend

ESAN & CO.,
ADRAS

## INDIA'S GOAL

#### CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISMS

BY

#### LEADING INDIANS

ON THE

#### MONTAGU-CHELMSFORD SCHEME

G. A. NATESAN & CO.,
MADRAS

#### PREFACE

This book is designed to meet the large and growing demand for a guide to all the mass of literature bearing on the Montagu-Chelmsford Report on Indian Constitutional Reforms. The publishers have availed themselves of this opportunity to present in chronological order full text of the Congress-League Scheme and other important documents as the Memorandum of the Nineteen, Sir William Wedderburn's Memorandum, Lord Islington's Scheme, Gokhale's Scheme, the Aga Khan's Scheme, the Declaration of August 20th and the Indo-British Scheme. A summary of the Montagu-Chelmsford Scheme is also reprinted from the Report. In the chapter entitled, "Some Constructive Criticisms," care has been taken to see that the views of representative leaders of public opinion, on different features of the scheme, are collected. In view of the huge pile of literature that has grown on the subject of the new reforms it hoped that the reader will welcome this handy volume.

## CONTENTS

<del></del>	
	PAGE
Introduction	
By Mr. G. A. Natesan	
The Schemes	
The Memorandum of the Nineteen	. I
Sir William Wedderburn's Memorandu	ım 8
Congress-Moslem League Scheme	. 13
Lord Islington's Scheme	. 2o
Mr. Gokhale's Scheme	. 23
The Declaration of August 20, 1917	
The Indo-British Scheme	. 29
The Aga Khan's Scheme	
The Montagu-Chelmsford Scheme	33
A Summary of the Proposals	
List I. Showing Provincial Subjects	47
List II. Showing Transferred Subjects.	54
Members of Mr. Montagu's Party	57
The Viceroy and Members of Council.	58
The Secretary of State's Council	58
Mr. Montagu on the Report	6 <b>o</b>
The Montagu-Chelmsford Scheme	:
The Hon. Sir S. P. Sinha	65
The Hon. Mr. Bhupendra Nath Basu	6 <b>9</b>
Hon. Babu Surendranath Banerjea	72
Hon. Babu Amvica Charan Mazumdar.	75
The Hon. Sir D. E. Wacha	76
Hon. Pundit Madan Mohan Malaviya.	84
Mrs. Annie Besant	92

#### CONTENTS

		PAGE
Sir Narayan Chandavarkar	•••	96
Rao Bahadur R. N. Mudholkar		96a
The Hon. Raja of Mahmudabad		97
The Hon. Mr. Mazar-ul-Haque	• .	100
The Hon. Mr. M. A. Jinnah		102
Hon. Mr. V. S. Srinivasa Sastri		104
Hon. Dr. Tej Bahadur Sapru	•••	117
Hon. Mr. Mir Asad Ali Khan		120
The Hon. Sir Fazulbhoy Currimbhoy	·	121
The Hon. Sir G. M. Chitnavis		122
The Hon. Mr. B. N. Sarma		125
The Hon. Mr. B. D. Shukul		129
Hon. Rai Sitanath Roy Bahadur	•	130
Mr. M. K. Gandhi		131
Sir P. S. Sivaswami Aiyar	•••	135
The Hon. Mr. Mirza Sami-Ullah Beg		138
The Hon. Pandit Jagat Narain	•••	I 4 I
Dewan Bahadur Govindaraghava Iy	er.	142
Hon. Prof. Paranjpye	•••	144
Hon. Mr. Yakub Hasan	•••	145
Nawab Sadiq Ali Khan		146
Hon. Mr. M. Ramachandra Rao	•••	147
The Hon. Mr. C. Y. Chintamany	•••	151
Prof. V. G. Kale		153
Khan Bahadur Sarfaraz Hussain Kha	an.	I 54
Pandit Manohar Lal	•••	I 55
Prof. H. G. Limaye	• • •	. 156
The Rev. Ahmad Shah		I 57
Mr. N. C. Kelkar		. 158