# LOK SABHA

# THE JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE UNTOUCHABILITY (OFFENCES) BILL, 1954.

## **EVIDENCE**

(2nd November, 1954)



LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT NEW DELHI December, 1954.

## DINT COMMITTEE ON THE UNTOUCHABILITY (OFFENCES) BILL, 1954.

## inutes of Evidence taken before the Joint Committee on the Untouchability (Offences) Bill, 1954.

Tuesday, the 2nd November, 1954 at 2-30 P.M. PRESENT

Shri Upendranath Barman-Chairman.

## Members LOK SABHA

Shri Narayan Sadoba Kajrolkar Shri T. Sanganna Shri Pannalall Barupal Shri Naval Prabhakar

Shri Ajit Singh

Shri Ganeshi Lal Chaudhary

Shri Bahadurbhai Kunthabhai Patel

Shrimati Minimata Shri Motilal Malviya Shri Dodda Thimmaiah Shri Rameshwar Sahu

Shri Ram Dass

Shri Nemi Saran Jain

Pandit Algu Rai Shastri

Shri Balwant Nagesh Datar

Shri Shree Narayan Das

Shri Mangalagiri Nanadas Shri A. Jayaraman

Shri V. G. Deshpande

Shri B. S. Murthy

Shri Vijneshwar Missir

Shri R. Velayudhan

Shri N. M. Lingam

Shri Mohanlal Saksena

Shri Mohaniai Saksena

Shri N. C. Chatterjee

### RAJYA SABHA

Shrimati Lilavati Munshi • Shrimati Bedavati Buragohain

Dr. N. S. Hardiker

Shri Kishori Ram

Shri Ram Prasad Tamta

Shri Trimbak Damodar Pustake

Shri Jagannath Das

Kakasaheb Kalelkar

Shri Surendranath Dwivedi

Shri N. C. Sekhar.

REPRESENTATIVES OF MINISTRIES AND OTHER OFFICERS

Shri S. K. Hiranandani, Additional Draftsman, Ministry of Law. Shri Gajinder Singh, Under Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs.

### SECRETARIAT

Shri M. Sundar Raj-Deputy Secretary.

Shri P. K. Patnaik-Under Secretary.

### WITNESSES EXAMINED

I. Bharatiya Depressed Classes League, New Delhi.

Spokesmen:

Shri B. Parmeshwaram

Shri Prithvi Singh Azad

Shri Chandrika Ram.

2

II. Harijan Sevak Sangh, Delhi.

Spokesmen: Shri Viyogi Hari Shri K. S. Shivam.